MANDRILLIS Better Gear. Better Sound.

Drums & Percussion Review

Donner Beat Max Electronic Drum Review: Big Mesh Pads, Touch-Screen Brain

The Donner Beat Max Electronic Drum pairs 12-inch quiet mesh pads and 14-inch chokeable cymbals with a 7-inch touch-screen module holding 100 kits and more than 1,100 sounds. The listing adds 160 plus practice pieces, error correction, WAV and MIDI recording and a cable-hiding frame. Here is what is confirmed and what is not.

M Mandrillis Team • Last updated: Oct 25, 2026 • 8 min read • Specs Verified

Our Verdict

Research Score 78/100

The Donner Beat Max Electronic Drum is one of the more ambitious kits in Donner's range, and the published specification backs that up: 12-inch mesh pads, 14-inch cymbals with choke, a 7-inch touch screen, 100 kits built from 16-layer 16-bit samples, and a practice system with more than 160 pieces and real-time error correction. Built-in recording with WAV and MIDI export is a feature many pricier kits lack. The gaps are the kick pad, the hi-hat mechanism, the output panel and the footprint, none of which the listing describes. In the upper mid-range tier it competes with established mesh kits on paper, and if the unknowns check out it is a strong pick for a home player who wants room to grow.

Editorial research score based on published specifications and documented features, not a customer rating or lab test.

Donner Beat Max Electronic Drum

Donner

Donner Beat Max Electronic Drum

Best for: Intermediate home drummers who want large mesh pads, big chokeable cymbals and a touch-screen module with serious practice and recording tools.

Skip it if: You need confirmed kick, hi-hat and output specifications before buying, or you want a compact kit for a small room.

Check Price on Amazon

We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

Listing verified: October 2026

Who Should Buy It

Buy it if

  • Players upgrading from an 8-inch pad starter kit
  • Drummers who want structured practice content with error feedback
  • Home recordists who want WAV and MIDI export without a computer
  • Anyone who dislikes exposed cable runs on a drum rack

Skip it if

  • You need a documented kick pad size and included pedal
  • Your space cannot take 12-inch pads and 14-inch cymbals
  • You want a kit from a brand with a longer track record in modules

Key Specifications

Pad type Quiet mesh drum pads, 12-inch
Number of pads Five drum pads and four cymbals per listing; individual pad roles not itemized
Module and kits Module with 7-inch touch screen, 100 kits and over 1,100 sounds, 16-layer 16-bit samples, EQ and effects
Kick pedal and pad Not published in listing
Hi-hat type Not published in listing
Cymbal pads 14-inch cymbals with choke; four cymbals listed
Connectivity USB MIDI; DONNER PLAY app support; audio outputs and Bluetooth not published in listing
Practice features Over 160 practice pieces, real-time error correction, built-in recording with WAV and MIDI export
Footprint Not published in listing
Included accessories Drumsticks; other accessories not published in listing

Overview

The Donner Beat Max Electronic Drum is Donner's attempt at a full-size kit with the pad sizes and module interface of a much more expensive instrument. The listing describes 12-inch quiet mesh drum pads, 14-inch cymbals with choke, a five-pad and four-cymbal layout, and a module operated through a 7-inch touch screen.

Sound and practice content are equally generous on paper. One hundred kits and more than 1,100 sounds are built from 16-layer 16-bit samples with EQ and effects, and the practice side offers over 160 pieces with real-time error correction, plus onboard recording that exports WAV and MIDI.

The published data stops short in a few places that matter. The kick pad, the hi-hat mechanism, the output panel, Bluetooth and the physical footprint are not described, so this review treats those as open questions rather than assumed features.

Pads, Feel and Response

Pad size is the first thing that separates the Beat Max from typical starter kits. The listing specifies 12-inch pads, which is a larger striking area than the 8-inch pads common on entry-level mesh kits, and it describes the surfaces as quiet mesh designed to replicate the feel of acoustic drums.

Mesh heads respond differently from rubber: the stick sinks slightly and rebounds in a way closer to a tuned drumhead, and the impact noise is lower, which matters in apartments. A 12-inch head also gives more room for rimshots, cross-sticks and off-center hits without falling off the edge of the pad.

What the published specification does not say is whether every one of the five pads is 12 inches, whether the pads are dual-zone with rim triggering, or whether mesh tension is adjustable. Those details shape dynamics and rim response, and buyers should confirm them, particularly for the snare.

Drum Module and Sounds

The module is built around a 7-inch touch screen that the listing compares to operating a tablet. Touch navigation is still uncommon at this tier, where most modules rely on buttons and a small display, and it should make kit selection, mixing and effects editing considerably faster for a new player.

Sound content is 100 kits and more than 1,100 individual sounds, built from 16-layer samples at 16-bit resolution. Sixteen velocity layers per instrument is the detail worth noticing, because layer count is what prevents the machine-gun effect on fast rolls and lets soft and hard hits sound like the same drum played differently.

EQ tools and effects are mentioned without specifics, so the number of effect types, reverb models and whether EQ is per-pad or master only remain unknown. Polyphony, user kit slots and user sample import are also absent from the listing, which matters for anyone planning to load their own sounds.

Kick, Hi-Hat and Cymbal Pads

Cymbals are the best-documented part of this group. The listing specifies 14-inch cymbals with choke across a four-cymbal layout, which on most kits means a hi-hat, two crashes and a ride, and 14 inches gives a realistic swing and a wide bow area for cross-stick and bell playing.

The kick is the main gap. Nothing in the published specification states whether the kit ships with a kick tower, a beaterless pedal or a pad plus pedal, and the pad size is not given. On a kit with 12-inch toms a buyer would reasonably expect a proper kick tower, but it should be confirmed.

The hi-hat mechanism is similarly undescribed. It could be a cymbal pad with a separate foot controller or a pad mounted on a real hi-hat stand, and the two options feel very different under the foot. Choke on the cymbals is confirmed, which is a plus for stopping a crash mid-ring.

  • Four 14-inch cymbals with choke per listing
  • Kick pad type, size and pedal not published
  • Hi-hat type and controller not published
  • Choke on cymbals confirmed; zone count per cymbal not stated
  • Five drum pads listed; roles not itemized

Practice Tools and Features

Practice content is a highlight. The listing cites more than 160 practice pieces with real-time error correction, which means the module scores your hits against the piece as you play and flags timing or voicing misses, a feature that normally requires a connected app or a higher-tier module.

Built-in recording with WAV and MIDI export is the second practice asset. Recording a session to WAV gives you an audio file to review or share, while MIDI export captures the performance as note data that can be dropped into a digital audio workstation and re-voiced with any drum library.

A metronome is not mentioned explicitly in the published data, though a module with error correction almost certainly includes one. The DONNER PLAY app is named as a companion, and the listing does not describe its functions, so app-based lessons or kit editing should be treated as unconfirmed.

Build, Rack and Footprint

The frame is described as an integrated framework that houses all the wiring, giving a clutter-free setup and a streamlined look without exposed cables. That matters beyond aesthetics, since internal cabling cannot snag a stick, trip a foot or work loose when the kit is moved.

Rack material, tube diameter, clamp type and adjustability are not published. Those factors decide how well the rack holds position after a month of hard playing and how far the pads can be angled, and the integrated wiring may limit how freely pads can be repositioned, which is worth asking about.

Footprint and weight are also missing, and with 12-inch pads and 14-inch cymbals this is not a small kit. Buyers should measure their space on the assumption of a full acoustic kit footprint rather than a compact electronic one.

Connectivity and Recording

USB MIDI is confirmed, which lets the module drive virtual drum instruments on a computer and record note data. Combined with the onboard MIDI export, a player has two routes to get performances into recording software, one live and one after the fact.

Audio outputs, a headphone jack, an aux input and Bluetooth are not described in the listing. A headphone output is almost universal, but line outputs for a monitor and Bluetooth for streaming backing tracks from a phone are not, and both should be confirmed if they matter to you.

The WAV export of onboard recordings implies some form of file storage or transfer, but whether that happens over USB to a computer, to a memory card or through the app is not stated. For a home recordist this is a practical detail that decides how smooth the workflow will be.

Setup and Daily Use

Assembly should be simpler than average because the wiring is housed inside the frame, removing the usual cable snake and the labeling exercise that comes with it. Drumsticks are included according to the listing, so a buyer with headphones can start playing on the first day.

Day to day, the touch screen is the feature that changes how the kit is used. Switching kits, nudging a tom volume or adding reverb becomes a tap rather than a menu dive, which encourages players to actually explore the 100 kits rather than settling on one.

The practice system suits a daily routine well, since error correction gives immediate feedback without a teacher present. Recording a short take at the end of each session and exporting it builds a progress record that is easy to compare week to week.

Who Should Buy It

The clearest match is a player moving up from a small-pad starter kit who wants acoustic-size surfaces and a module that does not feel like a calculator. The 12-inch mesh pads and 14-inch cymbals deliver the former and the touch screen the latter.

Self-taught drummers get real value from the 160 plus practice pieces with error correction and from onboard recording, which together cover the feedback loop a teacher would normally provide. Home producers who want MIDI performances without a computer in the room are also well served.

Buyers who need every specification confirmed before purchase, or who have a small room, may prefer an established mesh kit from a reference manufacturer. The same goes for anyone who values a long track record of module firmware support, even if it means smaller pads at the same tier.

Verdict

On the published specification, the Donner Beat Max Electronic Drum offers more pad area, more screen and more practice content than most kits in its tier. Mesh pads, chokeable 14-inch cymbals, 16-layer samples and WAV plus MIDI recording are all features a serious home player will use.

The score is held back by the unknowns rather than by anything the listing describes poorly. The kick, the hi-hat mechanism, the output panel and the footprint are all undocumented, and each is a specification that shapes daily satisfaction with an electronic kit.

If those details check out, this is a strong upper mid-range pick for a player who wants to grow into a kit instead of out of one. If the kick turns out to be a basic pedal pad or the outputs are minimal, the value calculation shifts, so ask before you buy.

Strengths and Limitations

Strengths

  • 12-inch quiet mesh pads and 14-inch chokeable cymbals
  • 7-inch touch screen module with 100 kits and over 1,100 sounds
  • 16-layer 16-bit samples with EQ and effects
  • More than 160 practice pieces with real-time error correction
  • Built-in recording with WAV and MIDI export
  • Integrated frame that hides the cabling

Limitations

  • Kick pad and pedal details are not published
  • Hi-hat type and controller are not described
  • Audio outputs, headphone jack and Bluetooth are not confirmed
  • Footprint and weight are missing from the listing

How We Scored It

Pad Feel and Response (30) 23/30
Sounds and Module (25) 19/25
Features and Practice Tools (15) 13/15
Build and Rack (10) 8/10
Connectivity (10) 8/10
Value (10) 7/10

Scores reflect published specifications, documented features and value against the alternatives below. They are editorial research scores, not laboratory measurements.

Alternatives to Consider

Roland TM-6 PRO

Roland TM-6 PRO

Acoustic drummers adding samples and electronic layers to a live kit, and hybrid players who want per-trigger processing and SD card sample import.

Read the Roland TM-6 PRO review →
Roland TD-07KV2

Roland TD-07KV2

Beginners and returning drummers who want a complete nine-pad kit with Bluetooth, USB recording and built-in coaching from an established V-Drums line.

Read the Roland TD-07KV2 review →
Donner DED-300X

Donner DED-300X

Adult beginners and returning players who want a full-size mesh kit with two crashes, rim triggering on the toms and a simple mixer panel at a mid-range tier.

Read the Donner DED-300X review →

Questions Buyers Ask

Yes. The listing describes 12-inch quiet mesh drum pads designed to replicate the feel of acoustic drums. It does not state whether every one of the five pads is 12 inches or whether the pads are dual-zone, so confirm rim triggering if that matters.
The module holds 100 kits and more than 1,100 sounds according to the listing, built from 16-layer 16-bit samples with EQ and effects. User kit slots and user sample import are not mentioned in the published specification.
It does. The module uses a 7-inch touch screen that the listing compares to tablet operation, intended to make kit selection, mixing and effects editing faster than button-and-menu navigation on a conventional drum module.
Yes. The listing describes built-in recording with WAV and MIDI export options, so you can save an audio file of a session or a MIDI performance to re-voice later in recording software. The transfer method is not specified.
The listing does not describe the kick pad, its size, or whether a pedal is included. Given the 12-inch toms a kick tower would be expected, but buyers should confirm this with the seller before purchase.
Yes. The listing specifies 14-inch cymbals with choke across the four-cymbal layout, so a crash can be grabbed to stop it ringing. The number of trigger zones per cymbal is not published.
USB MIDI is confirmed in the listing, so the module can trigger software drum instruments and record MIDI. Audio outputs, a headphone jack and Bluetooth are not described, so check those before relying on them.

Donner Beat Max Electronic Drum

See the current listing, price and included accessories.

Check Price on Amazon

About This Review

M

Mandrillis Team

The Mandrillis editorial team researches and compares audio and music gear using manufacturer documentation, verified specs and real buyer feedback, so you can make a confident purchase without wading through marketing claims.

Read our full research methodology.